Focus On

Ex-Miller Thomson counsel named deputy minister of Alberta Ministry of Energy

Thursday, May 09, 2019 @ 1:37 PM | By John Chunn

Miller Thomson announced that its former associate counsel Grant Sprague has been named deputy minister of the Alberta Ministry of Energy.

According to the firm’s press release, the deputy minister is the most senior public servant supporting the minister and oversees day-to-day operations in carrying out the Ministry’s mandate.

This is Sprague’s second go-round as Alberta deputy minister. He previously served in that role from July 2013 to May 2016. He had responsibility for energy development, market access and electricity policy. He also co-led the Deputy Ministers’ Working Group on the Canadian Energy Strategy and had oversight of the 2015 RoyaltyReview.

Prior to his previous appointment as deputy minister, Sprague served as head of the province’s Policy Coordination Office and as the assistant deputy minister of Alberta Justice.

During his years with Alberta Justice, Sprague provided legal advice to Alberta government departments on a full range of environmental matters under provincial legislation including the Environmental Protection and Enhancement Act, the Water Act, the Forests Act and the Public Lands Act.

Sprague is a senior fellow with the C.D. Howe Institute and is a sessional lecturer at the University of Alberta School of Business.