Focus On

Fasken partner appointed to Association of Mineral Exploration board

Monday, December 09, 2019 @ 9:57 AM | By John Chunn

The Association for Mineral Exploration (AME) announced that Fasken partner Kevin O’Callaghan is among the six members appointed to its board of directors. They will begin their one-year terms in January 2020.

According to the AME’s press release, the 2020 appointed board members provide guidance on a variety of topics from policy, to public outreach, to financial matters.

Also appointed to the board were Andree St. Germain, CFO at Integra Resources; Jody Shimkus, CEO at Kirk Environmental; Martin Turenne, president and CEO at FPX Nickel Corp.; Thomas Mumford, vice-president exploration at Scottie Resources Corp.; and Wendell Zerb, an independent mining investment adviser.

In addition to these appointed board members, AME has 15 nominated candidates to fill six elected board positions. These positions will be filled by way of an online vote open to AME members in early January and will be announced at AME’s annual Mineral Exploration Roundup conference in Vancouver on Jan. 20-23, 2020.
Commenting on the new board, Kendra Johnston, president and CEO for AME, said: “It is my pleasure to welcome the newly appointed AME board of directors who are a skilled and diverse group of industry leaders. The board will work together to continue to grow and move the mineral exploration industry toward a modern, responsible and successful future.”