Focus On

Ten justices of peace appointed to Ontario Court of Justice

Tuesday, February 25, 2020 @ 11:48 AM | By John Chunn

Ontario has appointed 10 new justices of the peace to the Ontario Court of Justice, effective Feb. 27, 2020.

According to the Ministry of the Attorney General’s press release, justice of the peace Robert Stuart Gordon Brain has a bachelor of laws degree from the University of Windsor. He has been assigned to Toronto.

Justice of the peace Krista Whittard has been a manager of the Niagara Region Mental Health Program, Public Health and Emergency Services Niagara Region since 2011. She has been assigned to Milton. 

Justice of the peace Susan Colleen Double has worked as the administrator of the Hamilton Police Service’s Victim Services Branch since 2008. 

Justice of the peace Sheldon Walter Weekes has worked as the manager of court operations at the Ministry of the Attorney General since 2016.

Both have been assigned to Brampton. 

Justice of the peace Laura Yvette Gorczynski Plate has worked as a chief instructor at the Ontario Police College since 2017.

Justice of the peace Gloria Ann Kovach is a registered nurse who has worked as a competency evaluation expert and examiner for the Touchstone Institute since 2012.

Both will be based in Kitchener.

Justice of the peace Emma Sims has worked as a paralegal at the firm Cohen Highley LLP since 2002. In 2019, she was appointed as a member of the Landlord and Tenant Board.

Justice of the peace Tammy Waugh has worked as a provincial Crown prosecutor for the Ministry of the Attorney General in Middlesex County since 2007. 

Both have been assigned to London.

Justice of the peace Shari Lynne St. Peter has held the role of executive director of the Niagara Peninsula Aboriginal Area Management Board since 2013. She has been assigned to St. Catharines.

Justice of the peace Harley D’Août Gervais has been a member of the Ontario bar since 2019 and a member of the Quebec bar since 2003. She has been the deputy director of the Association of French Speaking Jurists of Ontario since 2019. She has been assigned to Ottawa.