Focus On

Saskatchewan law society announces scholarship winners

Monday, October 05, 2020 @ 3:03 PM | By John Chunn

The Law Society of Saskatchewan announced that the 2020 E.M. Culliton Scholarship has been awarded to Brenda Yuen of Saskatoon and Sarah-jane Nussbaum of Toronto in the amount of $9,000 and $3,000, respectively.

According to the LSS press release, Yuen graduated from the College of Law, University of Saskatchewan in 2011. She is currently enrolled in the LL.M program at the University of Saskatchewan under the supervision of professor Sarah Buhler. She is researching the topic of how sexual assault law procedure may be improved for all parties involved if a trauma-informed lens were to be applied. This research will have broad application across all areas of criminal law and could positively contribute to the experience of accused persons, complainants, judges, lawyers, clerks and others involved in the process.

Nussbaum graduated from the College of Law, University of Saskatchewan in 2014. She went on to receive a master of law from the University of Cambridge in 2016. She is enrolled as a full-time PhD candidate at Osgoode Hall Law School. Her dissertation topic is on the fundamental incoherence within Canadian sentencing law; about the incoherence between the law’s efforts to both consider, and eschew, the ways in which the lives of individuals are shaped by varying abilities, social relationships and structures.

The E.M. Culliton Scholarship was established in 1981 in honour of the former chief justice of Saskatchewan. It is awarded to graduates of the College of Law at the University of Saskatchewan for the pursuit of graduate studies in criminal law.

Recipients are selected on the basis of exceptional academic record, research potential and exceptional service to the practice of law in Saskatchewan.