Focus On

Law Commission of Ontario appoints three new members

Tuesday, November 17, 2020 @ 12:01 PM | By John Chunn

The Law Commission of Ontario (LCO) on Nov. 17 announced the appointments of three new members, Justice Paul S. Rouleau, Geneviève Painchaud and Jane N. Mallen.   

According to the LCO’s press release, Justice Rouleau joined the LCO as a representative of the judiciary, effective Nov. 12, 2020.

He was appointed to the Court of Appeal for Ontario in April 2005 and to the Superior Court of Justice of Ontario in May 2002. Prior to his appointments he practised law specializing in all aspects of education, constitutional and labour law as well as commercial litigation. He was a partner with the law firm of Heenan, Blaikie from July 2000 to May 2002, Genest Murray, DesBrisay, Lamek from 1987 to July 2002 and Cassels Brock & Blackwell from his call to the bar in 1979 to 1987.

Painchaud joined as a representative for the Law Society of Ontario (LSO), effective Oct. 15, 2020. She is a bilingual communications and real estate professional and a lay bencher with the LSO. 

Over her career, she has had several senior marketing and communications roles, notably with Bell Express Vu and with Trimark Mutual Funds (Invesco Canada) and has also taught marketing at Collège La Cité in Ottawa. She is a licensed realtor with Royal LePage Performance Realty.

Mallen joined as an appointee of the Ministry of the Attorney General, effective Sept. 10, 2020. She is currently the assistant deputy attorney general of the Policy Division at the Ministry.

Prior to assuming her current role in January 2020, she was executive adviser and chief legal counsel to the deputy attorney general. Prior to joining the deputy’s office, Mallen worked for many years in Ministry of the Attorney General’s Civil Law Division