Focus On

Laval's Roy-Petitclerc, UNB's Maillet win BLG Awards as university athletes of year

Tuesday, May 02, 2017 @ 10:30 AM | By John Chunn

Arielle Roy-Petitclerc, a soccer player from the Laval Rouge et Or, and Philippe Maillet, a hockey player from the UNB Varsity Reds, are the BLG Award winners as U SPORTS Female and Male Athletes of the Year for the 2016-17 season.

The recipients of the 25th BLG Awards were announced Monday night at the Martha Cohen Theatre in Calgary. The awards show will air nationally May 17 at 7 p.m. EDT on Sportsnet 360.

Roy-Petitclerc and Maillet were presented with a trophy and a $10,000 scholarship to attend a Canadian university graduate school.

The winners were selected by the Canadian Athletic Foundation, a not-for-profit board established for the purpose of administering the BLG Awards and protecting the integrity of the selection process. For the third straight year, the general public was also invited to vote online (votes that didn't count toward the official result) and nearly 23,000 votes were cast over a two-week period.

“On behalf of BLG and the Canadian Athletic Foundation trustees, I would like to congratulate Arielle Roy-Petitclerc and Philippe Maillet, the winners of the 25th anniversary of the BLG Awards,” said Doug Mitchell, national co-chair of Borden Ladner Gervais. “The eight student athletes who were nominated are all outstanding in their sport. I congratulate all the nominees for their great accomplishments.”

Petitclerc, a native of St. Nicolas, Que., in her fourth year of U SPORTS eligibility, captured the Jim Thompson Trophy, presented annually to the female winner. She becomes just the second BLG Award recipient from Laval, joining volleyball player Marylène Laplante (2006).

Maillet, who finished his fourth year of U SPORTS eligibility, returns home with the Doug Mitchell Trophy. The Terrebonne, Que., native is also just the second BLG Award winner from UNB, following in the footsteps of current Varsity Reds associate coach and former men's hockey player Rob Hennigar, who earned the program's inaugural award in 2008.