Focus On

Hamilton Law Association has new president

Friday, June 02, 2017 @ 4:00 PM | By Paula Kulig

Robert Hooper has been acclaimed as the new president of the Hamilton Law Association, one of the oldest in Ontario.

Hooper, who practises person-injury litigation with his firm, Hooper Law Offices, has served in a number of roles with the association, including vice-president and secretary-treasurer. He’s also chaired the collections and library excellence subcommittee, the continuing professional development committee and the new lawyers’ subcommittee. He received his law degree from the University of Ottawa, and has been called to the bar in both Ontario and New Brunswick.

W. Patric Mackesy of Mackesy, Smye LLP is the association’s new vice-president. He has chaired the real estate subcommittee and the collections and library excellence subcommittee. Mackesy, also a graduate of the University of Ottawa, has practised for more than 40 years in the areas of real estate and real estate development, family law, wills, power of attorney, estates, and corporate law.

The new secretary-treasurer, Mark Giavedoni of Evans Sweeny Bordin LLP, has chaired the real estate subcommittee. He received his law degree from the University of Windsor and practises real property law.

Jennifer Cooper from Hughes & Bale LLP and Laura Dickson of Hughes Amys LLP are trustees for a first three-year term, while Hussein Hamdani of SimpsonWigle LAW LLP and David van der Woerd of Ross & McBride LLP each have second three-year terms.

Returning trustees are Kathleen Bingham of Bingham Law; Michael Bordin (past-president) of Evans Sweeny Bordin LLP; Andrew Confente of Confente, Garcea; Kanata Cowan of K. Cowan Law Professional Corporation; Andrew Keesmaat of Agro, Zaffiro LLP; and Colleen Yamashita of Scarfone, Hawkins LLP.