Focus On

Ontario electoral panel recommends two new ridings in far north

Wednesday, August 09, 2017 @ 12:42 PM | By John Chunn

Ontario is planning legislation in the fall that would redraw its electoral boundaries to create two new ridings in the far north, including a majority Indigenous riding and a majority francophone riding.

The final report of the Far North Electoral Boundaries Commission recommends dividing Kenora-Rainy River and Timmins-James Bay into the following four ridings:

  • Kenora-Rainy River, including Dryden, Fort Frances, Kenora and Rainy River
  • Kiiwetinoong, including the northern portion of the former riding of Kenora-Rainy River
  • Mushkegowuk, including Weenusk (Peawanuck) First Nation
  • Timmins, including the City of Timmins.           

The commission noted that Kiiwetinoong would be a majority Indigenous riding and that Mushkegowuk would be a majority francophone riding.

Ontario Attorney General Yasir Naqvi, in an Aug. 8 statement, said: "I would like to thank the Far North Electoral Boundaries Commission for its work to ensure the voices of people living in Ontario's north continue to be heard in the provincial legislature. ... Throughout the spring the commission met with communities across Northern Ontario, including representatives from Indigenous and francophone communities, in order to gain the local perspective of people living in the far north."