Focus On

Toronto Lawyers Association to honour Justice Laskin, lawyer Hull

Friday, November 10, 2017 @ 11:55 AM | By Carolyn Gruske

The Toronto Lawyers Association (TLA) has named its 2018 award winners.

Justice John I. Laskin of the Ontario Court of Appeal will receive the TLA Award of Distinction while the Honsberger Award will be presented to Ian M. Hull of Hull & Hull LLP.

In announcing the award recipients, the TLA board cited Laskin’s “distinguished career as a litigation lawyer and appellate counsel spanning 23 years before joining the bench” as the reason for his honour. The award of distinction is designed to recognize an outstanding contribution to the integrity and worth of the the law and to the legal profession, through a preeminent and lengthy career.

The board said Hull “personifies and represents each of the three pillars of the TLA — knowledge, community and advocacy.” Hull is chair of board of directors of the Law Society Foundation and a long-time supporter of its Lawyers Feed the Hungry program. He is also a frequent lecturer at various law associations and the author of numerous books and articles.

The 18th Annual TLA Awards reception will be held on Thursday, March 8, 2018, in Toronto.