Focus On

Benchers elected in Alberta

Friday, November 17, 2017 @ 3:56 PM | By Carolyn Gruske

The Law Society of Alberta has announced the results of its 2017 bencher election.

This year, 3,948 lawyers (out of 9,764 eligible voters) cast ballots, which works out to 40 per cent of the profession.

The elected members are schedule to serve for a three-year term that commences in February 2018.

Donald Cranston won the vote for president.

Bud Melnyk was acclaimed as the central region representative. The remaining regional winners are Ryan Anderson in the south and Corie Flett for the north.

The other elected benchers are Rob Armstrong, Arman Chak, Sandra Corbett, Nancy Dilts, Karen Hewitt, Cal Johnson, Linda Long, Jim Lutz, Walter Pavlic, Stacy Petriuk, Robert Philp, Kathleen Ryan, Darlene Scott, Kent Teskey, Margaret Unsworth and Nate Whitling.