Focus On

British Columbia holds bencher elections

Friday, November 17, 2017 @ 3:59 PM | By Carolyn Gruske

Election results are in following voting for the Law Society of British Columbia benchers.

Two districts, Vancouver County and Westminster County, needed to elect members, whereas other districts filled their seats with acclamations or continuing terms. Benchers serve for a two-year term that begins on Jan. 1, 2018, and ends on Dec. 31, 2019.

Miriam Kresivo, Nancy G. Merrill and Craig A. B. Ferris, who will hold the titles of president, first vice-president and second vice-president, respectively, were declared to continue in office without election.

In Vancouver, Jennifer Chow was newly elected. The remaining 10 benchers were all re-elected: Jeevyn Dhaliwal, Jamie Maclaren, Jasmin Ahmad, Sharon Matthews, Elizabeth Rowbotham, Lisa Hamilton, Brook Greenberg, Tony Wilson, Jeff Campbell and Steven McKoen.

In Westminster, Phil Riddell, Martin Finch and Christopher McPherson were all re-elected.

Victoria saw Pinder K. Cheema and Dean P. J. Lawton re-elected by acclamation.

Barbara Cromarty was re-elected by acclamation in Kootenay; Sarah Westwood was re-elected by acclamation in Prince Rupert; and Michelle Stanford was re-elected by acclamation in Kamloops.

In the Okanagan district, Michael Welsh was elected by acclamation, and the same thing happened in Cariboo with Geoffrey McDonald and Heidi Zetzsche earning their positions in that manner.