Focus On

Four new judges named for Ontario

Tuesday, December 19, 2017 @ 3:22 PM | By Carolyn Gruske

Four defence lawyers have been named as judges in the Ontario Court of Justice.

The appointments of Paul Burstein, Victor Giourgas, Angela Lynn McLeod and Shannon Beverley McPherson will be effective as of Dec. 28, 2017. 

Justice Burstein was most recently with Burstein Bryant Barristers in Toronto. Specializing in criminal and constitutional litigation, he was also an adjunct professor at Queen’s University Law School and the director of Osgoode Hall's criminal law intensive program. Justice Burstein will preside in Oshawa.

Justice Giourgas has been a sole practitioner in his criminal defence and appellate practice, although he was previously a partner at Hick Adams LLP. He volunteers with Law in Action Within Schools (LAWS). Justice Giourgas will preside in Newmarket. 

Justice McLeod has been a sole practioner, a defence counsel, a federal prosecutor and a victim”s advocate. She has volunteered with the New Path Youth and Family Services, Elizabeth Fry Society, Criminal Lawyers' Association of Ontario and Simcoe County Lawyers’ Association. Justice McLeod will preside in Barrie.

Justice McPherson has most recently worked as defence lawyer and as a standing agent for the federal Crown in Halton Regoin. She also served as a Crown counsel with the Public Prosecution Service of Canada. Justice McPherson will preside in Newmarket.