Focus On

Legal professionals to be named to Order of Ontario

Monday, February 05, 2018 @ 4:35 PM | By Carolyn Gruske

Judges and lawyers will soon be among the newest members of the Order of Ontario.

In total, 23 people will be invested during a Feb. 27 ceremony at Queen’s Park.

Among the recipients, five are from the legal community.

Dr. Peter Chang is a lawyer with a private practice, but he earned his Order of Ontario for his work in “improving access to mental health services for Ontario’s East Asian communities. He established the Hong Fook Mental Health Association to provide culturally sensitive services in five Asian languages, as well as the Hong Fook Mental Health Foundation to address the stigma of mental illness.”

Justice Sandra Chapnik is described in the nomination announcement as having had “an extraordinary and influential career as a lawyer and a judge with the Superior Court of Justice for Ontario. She is also a tireless promoter and mentor of women in law.”

Michael Geist holds a number of titles at the University of Ottawa, including professor in the faculty of law and Canada research chair in Internet and e-commerce law. He will be given the order for his work as “a global thought leader, particularly in the area of Internet policy, copyright law and digital rights [where] he frequently shapes government policy in Canada and abroad on emerging technologies and influences public debate through his books and other writings.”

Allan Rock is known for the time he spent as a federal cabinet minister, including serving as minister of justice and attorney general of Canada, and for holding the post of ambassador to the United Nations. He was nominated for being a visionary who “championed peace-building as Canada’s ambassador to the UN. As president and vice-chancellor of the University of Ottawa, he revitalized the institution.”

Elizabeth Sheehy is described as a world-renowned feminist criminal-law scholar whose “research into the law’s treatment of women has helped transform Canada’s justice system. She helped inspire new approaches to sexual assault law and lends her expertise to rape crisis centres and women’s shelters.”

“I am proud to welcome the 23 newest members of the Order of Ontario. They continue a tradition of excellence, and represent the best of this great province. Their extraordinary achievements have contributed to making Ontario, and the world, a better place for us all,” said Lt.-Gov. Elizabeth Dowdeswell.