Focus On

County of Carleton Law Association names award winners

Tuesday, February 20, 2018 @ 1:59 PM | By Carolyn Gruske

Ahead of its annual general meeting and awards dinner in March, the County of Carleton Law Association (CCLA) has revealed the list of people who will be honoured with awards.

Mary Jane Binks will be presented with the Carleton Medal. It is awarded to a recipient in recognition of great diligence, high ideals and outstanding leadership in the practice of law throughout his or her career.

Mitchell Kitagawa will receive the Gordon F. Henderson award. This goes to a recipient who has made a significant contribution to the welfare of the community by performing charitable services on behalf of the community and comes with a $1,000 donation to the winner’s charity of choice.  

Solomon Friedman will get the regional senior justice award, which honours a lawyer in practice for 10 years or less who has made an outstanding contribution as a litigator or as a solicitor, as well as making an outstanding contribution to the community.

In addition, the CCLA will acknowledge those who are celebrating the 50th anniversary of their call to the bar as CCLA umbrella recipients. This year, those members are:

  • Justice Ian Binnie
  • John Bogue
  • Richard Bosada
  • David H. Hill
  • Russell Kronick
  • Robin A. Ritchie
  • P. Donald Rasmussen
  • Justice Albert Roy
  • William J. Simpson
  • Norman Slover
  • Peter C. P. Thompson 
  • Douglas Wallace

The event is on March 8, 2018, in Ottawa.