Focus On

Family law award winners named

Friday, February 23, 2018 @ 2:22 PM | By Carolyn Gruske

The County of Carleton Law Association (CCLA) will honour two recipients with the inaugural presentation of the Heidi Levenson Polowin Award for family law.

Justice V. Jennifer Mackinnon, a supernumerary judge of the family court branch, Ontario Superior Court of Justice (presiding in the East Region), and E. Jane Murray, a family law and estate litigator, mediator and family arbitrator at Mann Lawyers LLP, have been named the winners.

They will receive the award named in honour of the late Ontario Superior Court justice at the CCLA’s 27th Annual Institute of Family Law, in Montebello, Que., from April 13 to 14.

The Polowin Award recognizes a lawyer who has made an outstanding contribution to the practice of family law through his or her career, whether as a litigator, solicitor, judge and/or alternative dispute resolution neutral. A donation of $1,000 made by the Polowin family will be given to each winner’s charity of choice.