Focus On

Dalhousie takes Harold G. Fox Cup at moot

Wednesday, March 07, 2018 @ 9:50 AM | By Carolyn Gruske

In its first year of competition, a team from Dalhousie University’s faculty of law won the title of best mooting team at the Harold G. Fox Moot.

The moot, named in honour of the late intellectual property (IP) scholar and advocate, was created to “promote the furtherance of education in the IP field, and to provide participants with the opportunity to interact with jurists of the Supreme, Ontario and Federal Courts and experienced practitioners of intellectual property law.”

The problem that the students were issued involved competing cheese manufacturers using nearly identical product names, and it involved issues of geographical indication (GI) and trademarks.

The winning pair this year was Gabrielle Lemoine and Juliette Ryan. The runners-up were Louell Taye and Nathaniel Bryan from the University of Toronto.

Another team from the University of Toronto, Jacquelyn Smalley and Arron Chahal, and a team from the University of Ottawa, Jessica Pugliese and Mari Galloway, made it to the semifinals.

The Gordon F. Henderson awards for best factum writers went to teams from University of Toronto — Smalley and Chahal on the appellate side and Taye and Nathaniel Bryan on the respondent side.

The appellant runner-up was the team of Jin-Zhi Pao and Andrew Tigchelaar from the University of Victoria, while the respondent runner-up team of Zan Xu and Christopher Jagodits was from Queen’s University.

The DLA Piper (Canada) LLP award for mooting excellence, which is given to the best mooter in a non-graduating year, was awarded to Nathaniel Bryan of the University of Toronto. He and a teammate will be invited to represent their school at the 2019 Oxford International IP Moot in England.