Focus On

Canadians inducted into American College of Trial Lawyers

Friday, March 23, 2018 @ 1:43 PM | By Carolyn Gruske

A number of Canadians were named as fellows of the American College of Trial Lawyers during a ceremony in Arizona.

The college’s membership is by invitation only and is extended to “experienced trial lawyers who have mastered the art of advocacy and whose professional careers have been marked by the highest standards of ethical conduct, professionalism, civility and collegiality.” The college limits membership to a maximum of one per cent of the total lawyer population of any state or province.

This year’s Canadian inductees come from four parts of the country: the Atlantic provinces, Ontario, Quebec and Alberta.

The Atlantic province inductees are Michelle C. Awad (McInnes Cooper); Darlene Jamieson (Merrick Jamieson Sterns Washington & Mahody); Robert M. Purdy (Patterson Law); and Nancy G. Rubin (Stewart McKelvey) who all work in Halifax; and Brenda G. Noble (Cox & Palmer) from Saint John, N.B.

The new Ontario fellows are Andrea H. Plumb (Lerners LLP) from the London area; and Toronto-based Mary Humphrey (Ministry of the Attorney General); and William C. McDowell (Lenczner Slaght Royce Smith Griffin LLP).

The Quebec fellows all come from Montreal and are Eric Dunberry (Norton Rose Fulbright Canada LLP); Eric Mongeau (Stikeman Elliott LLP); Patrick Ouellet (Woods s.e.n.c.r.); Mathieu Piché-Messier (Borden Ladner Gervais LLP); and Emmanuelle Poupart (McCarthy Tétrault LLP).

The sole Alberta inductee is Calgary’s Shane G. Parker (Alberta Justice, Crown Prosecution Services).