Focus On

Legal professionals among those to recommend future senators

Friday, April 27, 2018 @ 1:13 PM | By Carolyn Gruske

Members of the legal community will be joining other prominent Canadians as members of the organization tasked with recommending future Senate nominees.

The Independent Advisory Board for Senate Appointments is a nonpartisan body that reports its recommendations for members of the red chamber to Prime Minister Justin Trudeau. It is chaired by former civil servant and emeritus governor of the University of Ottawa Huguette Labelle.

Among the appointments to the board are François Rolland, the former chief justice of the Superior Court of Quebec (appointed as a federal representative); Murray Segal, independent legal counsel and former deputy attorney general of Ontario (reappointed as an Ontario provincial representative); and Justice James Igloliorte, a former provincial court judge in Newfoundland and Labrador and a deputy judge of the Territorial Court of the Northwest Territories (appointed as a Newfoundland and Labrador provincial representative).

The other appointees are: Melissa Blake, former mayor of Wood Buffalo, Alta., (appointed as a federal member); Ramona Lumpkin, former president and vice-chancellor of Mount Saint Vincent University (reapointed as a provincial member for Nova Scotia); Jennifer Gillivan, president and CEO of the IWK Foundation, (reappointed as a provincial member for Nova Scotia); Dawn Lavell Harvard, director of First Peoples House of Learning at Trent University (reappointed as as provincial member for Ontario); Susan Dyer Knight, chancellor of Memorial University and visiting researcher at the University of London (appointed as a provincial member for Newfoundland and Labrador); Diane Strand, director of community wellness of Champagne & Aishihik First Nations (appointed as a territorial member for Yukon); and Carl Friesen, senior partner and vice-president of Underhill Geomatics Ltd. (appointed as a territorial member for Yukon).