Focus On

Ontario Bar Association will celebrate award winners in May and June

Monday, May 14, 2018 @ 1:12 PM | By Carolyn Gruske

Throughout May and June, the Ontario Bar Association (OBA) will be holding evening and lunch ceremonies to honour its 2018 award of excellence winners.

The award season begins on May 24, when Orlando Da Silva of the Crown Office (Civil) at the Ministry of the Attorney General will be given the OBA Tom Marshall award of excellence for public sector lawyers.

Next on the schedule is Pamela MacEachern, a partner at Nelligan O’Brien Payne LLP, who is the recipient of the 2018 OBA award of excellence in the promotion of women’s equality.

The May awards wrap up on May 29 with two awards being handed out. C. Kirk Boggs, a partner at Lerners LLP will be given the award of excellence in insurance law.

Justice George Czutrin, senior judge of the Superior Court of Justice, family court, will also receive his award that day. He is being honoured with the award of excellence in family law in memory of James G. McLeod.

On June 4 Margaret Rintoul, a partner at Blaney McMurtry LLP will be celebrated with the 2018 OBA award of excellence in trusts and estates law.

Then, on June 5 Laila Brabander, the senior vice-president and head of claims (Canada) at Chubb Insurance will be given the 2018 Canadian Corporate Counsel Association (CCCA) Ontario chapter award of excellence.

Also on June 5, Lisa Corrente, a partner at Torkin Manes LLP wil be given the 2018 OBA Susan Hilary Davidson memorial award of excellence in health law.

On June 6 Gilles LeVasseur, a professor at the University of Ottawa, will be awarded the 2018 Associated Medical Services Incorporated (AMS)/John Hodgson award of excellence in charity and not-for-profit law.

June 12 is when Joseph M. Marin, who has retired from Miller Thomson LLP, will be given the 2018 OBA Murray Klein award of excellence in insolvency law.

On June 14 Harvey J. Kirsh of Kirsh Construction ADR Services Ltd. will receive the award of excellence in construction and infrastructure law.

June 20 will see two lawyers awarded. Roger Beaman, the former lead counsel for the County of Simcoe, will receive the award of excellence in municipal law.

That same day Deborah McPhail, senior counsel at the Financial Services Commission of Ontario, will receive the 2018 award of excellence in pensions and benefit law.

For those wishing to attend any of these ceremonies, tickets will be available on the OBA website.