We use cookies on this site to enable your digital experience. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our cookie policy. close
Focus On
In-House Counsel | Insurance | Intellectual Property | Immigration | Natural Resources | Real Estate | Tax

Trudeau shuffles cabinet, promotes five new ministers

Wednesday, July 18, 2018 @ 1:47 PM | By John Chunn

In a major shuffle, Prime Minister Justin Trudeau on July 18 added five new cabinet ministers and unveiled new portfolios for border security, intergovernmental affairs and seniors.

The moves mean the cabinet now boasts 35 members and were seen as an attempt by the government to bolster its lineup in the run-up to the 2019 federal election.

In a press release after announcing the changes, Trudeau said the government is focused on growing the economy, strengthening the middle class and creating more opportunities for everyone. He added the new responsibilities of the cabinet build on Canada’s strong economic foundations, further position the country for growth and success and reflect changing realities in the global economy.

The following is a summary of the major changes:

  • Dominic LeBlanc becomes minister of Intergovernmental and Northern Affairs and Internal Trade. He was formerly minister of Fisheries, Oceans and the Canadian Coast Guard. He will focus on implementing national commitments and priorities that depend on strong relationships with other orders of government, creating more jobs, growing the economy and improving interprovincial trade. In addition to co-leading the Atlantic Growth Strategy, he will also work to address the needs and priorities of Northerners, including devolution.

  • James Carr becomes minister of International Trade Diversification. Canada’s prosperity is tied to progressive trade and economic opportunities beyond its borders, and Carr will work to help Canadian people and businesses compete and succeed around the world, and diversify our trading markets. He was formerly minister of Natural Resources.

  • Mélanie Joly is now minister of Tourism, Official Languages and La Francophonie. She had been minister of Canadian Heritage.

  • Amarjeet Sohi takes over as minister of Natural Resources; he had been minister of Infrastructure and Communities.

  • Carla Qualtrough is now minister of Public Services and Procurement and the new Accessibility file.

  • François-Philippe Champagne becomes minister of Infrastructure and Communities. He was formerly minister of International Trade.

  • Pablo Rodriguez is the new minister of Canadian Heritage and Multiculturalism. The Quebec MP had been Liberal Whip.

  • Bill Blair is now minister of Border Security and Organized Crime Reduction, a new portfolio. He will work to ensure Canada’s borders are managed in a way that promotes legitimate travel and trade while keeping Canadians safe and treating everyone fairly and in accordance with our laws. The Toronto MP was formerly the government’s point person on the legalization of cannabis.

  • Filomena Tassi becomes the minister of Seniors, a new position. She had been deputy whip of the Liberal caucus.

  • Mary Ng becomes minister of Small Business and Export Promotion. She will help Canadian entrepreneurs and businesses grow, compete and succeed, here in Canada and abroad. Ng will also assume responsibility for the Business Development Bank of Canada.

  • Jonathan Wilkinson becomes minister of Fisheries, Oceans and the Canadian Coast Guard. He was formerly parliamentary secretary to the minister of the Environment and Climate Change.