Focus On

Three Crowns and defence counsel to share Walter Owen Book Prize

Tuesday, September 28, 2021 @ 9:39 AM | By John Chunn

The Canadian Foundation for Legal Research announced that four practising Crown and defence barristers share first place as co-recipients of the 2021 Walter Owen Book Prize [English language], for authorship of Search and Seizure (Emond Montgomery Publications Limited).

According to the foundation’s press release, winners will share $15,000 from the foundation, which is dedicated to funding and recognizing exceptional legal scholarship in Canada.

Co-recipients include Nader Hasan, privately practising barrister; Mabel Lai, Ontario Crown counsel; David Schermbrucker, federal Crown counsel; and Randy Schwartz, director, Ontario Crown Law Office-Criminal. There were 27 nominees for the award.

The Canadian Foundation for Legal Research also recognizes the following finallists:

Professor Carissima Mathen of the University of Ottawa Faculty of Law earns second place prize for Courts Without Cases: The Law and Politics of Advisory Opinions (Hart Publishing).

John S. Tyhurst, visiting professor at the University of Ottawa Faculty of Law, receives third place for Canadian Competition Law and Policy (Irwin Law Inc.).

Two books received honourable mentions: Reinventing Bankruptcy Law: A History of the Companies’ Creditors Arrangement Act (University of Toronto Press), by Victoria Torrie; and The Justice Crisis: The Cost and Value of Accessing Law (UBC Press), edited by Trevor C.W. Farrow and Lesley A. Jacobs.

The Walter Owen Book Prize honours its namesake (1904-1981) who privately practised law for 40 years, served as president of the Canadian Bar Association and, in 1959, became the foundation’s first president.

For additional information about the Walter Owen Book Prize and the Canadian Foundation for Legal Research, go here.